Inspiration is Cross Pollination

(Note: I know, Debra, I haven’t posted my responses to the Krug readings. They will get there. But, first, I have to share this.)

As recently as this morning, I have become addicted to TED Talks. I started by watching Neil Parischa give a TED speech on his blog 1000 Awesome Things, in which each day he posts a new minor wonder that are so optimistic and beautiful that you can’t not leave without being reinspired to live. I normally either listen to audiobooks or talk radio while I’m doing design work, and have decided that today, perhaps I’ll have some of the TED Talks playing in the background.

There is an entire section on the TED website dedicated to innovative speakers called “Design Like You Give A Damn.” Naturally, my interest was peaked (as, I am sure, so is yours.) There are only a few that have to do with art design, and some have to do with classroom design, technological design, and any other number of categories. Regardless of whether or not it applies directly to you, it is worth noting.

I did see one on graphic design (in which I stopped my work to actually look at the visuals involved) and felt the need to share. This woman is a very innovative graphic designer who can still be incredibly creative in the commercial realm and she also explains why that is important. From here, I think it would be beneficial for you to take a look at what she has to say and show how you, too, can find inspiration and (more) value to the work you do.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Debra
    Nov 08, 2010 @ 16:28:44

    ok…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

